Mathematics programs
The three programs NTNU has for mathematical needs are Maple (symbolic and numeric mathematics), Matlab (numerical mathematics) and MathType (equation editor).
Both students and employees can install these programs on their private machines. They are also available at the different computer labs at Gløshaugen and Dragvoll. However, one must be connected to the NTNU net (either physically by cable, wireless at school or with VPN) when using Matlab, as its license is distributed with a license server and the program must have access to this server.
Maple
Symbolic mathematics is Maple's strength, but can also be used for numerical operations.
Maple uses the term worksheet when describing documents that can contain both text, graphics and calculations.
Mathematical expression follow the standard mathematical notation, and this makes it very easy to understand and create high-quality documents. The worksheets can easily be exported to HTML-format for publishing online. In addition to this, one can export formulas and expression to Postscript and LateX.
Maple also offers graphical displays of functions, both in 2D and 3D. These can be rotated easily and animation can be added as to help visualizing what changes of parameters may do.
In addition to this, Maple has a built-in programming language similar to Pascal/Basic which enables the user to create advanced applications. Maple itself uses this language for all operations, which gives the user a way to easily modify and inspect these.
Information about Maple and NTNU can be found at this page. Unfortunately, this page is in Norwegian.
Links to some manuals that are available online:
Matlab
The most utilized tool for numerical mathematics is Matlab. It is very versatile as it contains over 300 different functions and the user can write his/her own functions. Often used to solve linear equations, differential equations, polynomial equations, and integration.
It is possible to extend MATLAB's functionality by adding toolboxes which can help the user solve problems in special topics. SIMULINK is often used for simulation of dynamic non-linear systems.
In addition to this, the user can make utilize Matlab-commands to display functions graphically in both 2D and 3D. These graphics can be exported for use in publications. (Which they often are).
The programming language used it Matlab is a high-level language, but there is also a C and Fortran interface.
Information on Matlab and NTNU can be found at this page. Unfortunately this page is not available in English.
Links to some manuals available online:
MathType
MathType is available for Windows (version 5.2a), and Mac (version 5.1).
As a powerful interactive point-and-click tool MathType enables the user to enter complicated mathematical equation and symbols into normal text-editors compatible with MathType, especially Microsoft Word. MathType is 'the Professional Version of Equation Editor' they say, with over 500 mathematical symbols and templates.
MathType can have its own commando and toolbar in Microsoft Word and PowerPoint. The user is also able to convert equations to TeX, LaTeX and MathML v. 2 code. MathML is a standard for displaying mathematics on websites. You can convert all the equations from a Word document to images in EPS, GIF or WMF format. In addition, with MathPage, the user can convert the whole Word Document to HTML with the equations stored as GIF images with much higher quality than Word's own HTML-converter.
Entering an equation with Word's toolbars
You can choose to show MathType with Word's other toolbars by turning them on at View->Toolbars on the main toolbar and choose MathType. To insert an equation you choose the button furthest to the left. Or you can choose Mathtype->Insert Inline Equation on the toolbar and get the same result. A window will appear where you can choose which equation to insert. To return to the normal editing view, just click somewhere else in the document.
Entering an equation with object in Word
To insert an equation as an object you choose Insert->Object from the toolbar and MathType Equation in the Object Type list on the Create New tab.
A window will appear where you can choose what kind of equation you want. It might start up as a separate program and there you do the same and choose File->Update documentname. Your equation will be added to the document. When you are done, choose File->Close and Return to documentname.
For information NTNU and MathType, please visit this page. Unfortunately, this page is not available in English.
Links to manuals online:
| Språk: | Kommentarer: | 0 | Aid: | 524 | Brukervurdering: |
|
|
| Sist oppdatert: | 2007-07-31 | Forfatter: | livermor | Lest: | 288 ganger |